You are here

Faculty Honors

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering is proud to have a number of faculty and active emeritus faculty who have received national and international honors. Three ECE faculty and emeritus faculty are members of the National Academy of Engineering, 27 are IEEE Fellows and three are AAAS Fellows.

NAE Member

  • Jose Cruz for contributions to the control of large-scale systems with multiple goals and to sensitivity analysis
  • Robert E. Fenton for pioneering systems research and engineering on the design and operation of automated highway systems (2003)
  • Marvin H. White for contributions to solid-state imagers and for advances in silicon devices and technology (2001)

IEEE Fellows

  • Paul Berger for contributions to the understanding, development, and fabrication of silicon-based resonant interband tunneling devices and circuits (2011)
  • Leonard J. Brillson for contributions to the understanding and control of semiconductor interfaces and electrical contacts by atomic-scale techniques (2001)
  • Bob Burkholder for contributions to computing electromagnetic wave scattering from realistically complex structures (2005)
  • Antonio Conejo
  • Jose Cruz (1968)
  • Robert Fenton (Life Fellow) for contributions to control systems for automatic control of high-speed highway vehicles (1986)
  • Hesham El Gamal for contributions to multiple-input multiple-output and cooperative communications (2010)
  • Inder “Jiti” Gupta for contributions to the theory and advancement of compact ranges for accurate electromagnetic measurement and for analysis and applications of adaptive antennas (2000)
  • Hooshang Hemami for contributions to the dynamics, control, and computer modeling of robotic and human bipedal locomotion systems (1999)
  • Joel Johnson for contributions to ocean surface remote sensing using microwave systems (2008)
  • Ali Keyhani for development of the system identification method of synchronous machine modeling and parameter estimation (1998)
  • Jin-Fa Lee for contributions to computational electromagnetic (2005)
  • Robert Lee for contributions to finite element and finite difference methods in electromagnetic (2008)
  • Randy Moses for contributions to statistical signal processing (2010)
  • David Orin for contributions to the computation of robot kinematics and dynamics (1993)
  • Umit Ozguner for contributions to the development of intelligent autonomous vehicles (2010)
  • Kevin Passino for contributions to stability and control of discrete event and intelligent systems (2004)
  • Prabhakar H. Pathak for contributions to the uniform geometrical theory of diffraction applied to antenna and scattering problems (1986)
  • Roberto Rojas for contributions to the understanding of high frequency electromagnetic radiation and scattering (2001)
  • Stephen A. Sebo for contributions to the development of techniques for scale modeling for high-voltage transmission stations and leadership in electric power engineering education (1992)
  • Philip Schneiter for contributions to signal processing in communications (2013)
  • Ness B. Shroff for contributions to the modeling, analysis and control of computer communication networks (2007)
  • Vadim Utkin for his contributions to the theory of variable structure and sliding mode control (2004)
  • John L. Volakis for contributions to computational electromagnetic, including hybrid finite element and high frequency methods (1996)
  • Marvin H. White (Life Fellow) for contributions to the theory and development of solid-state electronic devices, especially memory transistors and charge-coupled imaging arrays (1974)
  • Longya Xu for contributions to the design, analysis, and control of doubly excited brushless reluctance machines (2004)
  • Yuan Zheng for contributions to the development of mechanisms for coordination of multiple robots and manipulators (1997)

SPIE Fellows

Guoqiang Li for achievements in the design, fabrication, and integration of optical and electro-optic devices (2016)

Betty Lise Anderson for her contributions to the opics and photonics industry (2015)

AAAS Fellows

OSA Fellows

Guoqiang Li