ECE recognizes retiring professors Ahalt, Orin

Posted: September 18, 2009

Dr. Ahalt has been an Ohio State ECE professor since 1987, co-founded the Information Processing Systems Laboratory, and served as executive director of the Ohio Supercomputer Center since 2003. He received the OSU Lumley Research Award in 1997 and the Ohio State College of Engineering Research Award in 1999. Dr. Ahalt has accepted an appointment as director of the Renaissance Computing Institute and professor of computer science at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Dr. David Orin joined Ohio State in 1981, eventually reaching the rank of Professor in 1989. He is an IEEE Fellow (1993) and received the Expedited Award for Novel Research from NSF in 1987. As a teacher, Dr. Orin has received significant recognition from the students, including the College of Engineering Charles E. MacQuigg Award for Outstanding Teaching in 2003. Following a few months off, Dr. Orin will return to Ohio State as Professor Emeritus to continue teaching and research in the area of robotics. (9/09)