Seven faculty receive college Awards

Posted: July 16, 2012

Electrical and computer engineering faculty received a total of seven awards from the College of Engineering in recognition of their achievements in teaching and research.


Scott Faculty Award for Outstanding Academic Excellence

Steven A. Ringel, professor and Neal A. Smith Endowed Chair in Electrical Engineering, received the 2012 Clara M. and Peter L. Scott Faculty Award for Outstanding Academic Excellence. This award is given to a senior faculty member who has achieved both national and international status as a leading educator and researcher.

Ringel was honored for his innovative leadership in electronic materials and devices, including excellence in interdisciplinary teaching and mentorship, and seminal contributions to photovoltaics and wide band-gap electronics.


Diversity Excellence Award

Betty Lise Anderson, professor of electrical and computer engineering, received the 2012 Diversity Excellence Award for her work to achieve excellence through diversity. Anderson leads an outreach program, targeting women and minorities, that gets kids excited about engineering. Along with her students, she has developed many hands-on engineering activities. Visiting 47 different schools in over 100 visits, plus nearly 50 camps and special programs, she has reached over 4,000 kids since 2008.


Boyer Award for Excellence in Teaching Innovation

Jin Wang, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, received the 2012 Boyer Award for Excellence in Teaching Innovation in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the improvement of undergraduate engineering education. Wang has been investigating and implementing the newest real time simulation technologies and lecture capture methods to enhance the undergraduate experience of electric power related engineering courses. He currently leads a Department of Energy sponsored $2.5 million dollar project that will reinvigorate electrical power engineering education at Ohio State.

Lumley Research Awards


ECE faculty members (pictured above, left to right) Robert Burkholder, Roberto Myers, Lee Potter and Siddharth Rajan all received Lumley Research Awards in recognition of their exceptional activity and success in pursuing new knowledge of a fundamental or applied nature. The award is in honor of John H. Lumley, a 1927 graduate of ceramic engineering.


Categories: AlumniAwardsFaculty