Three ECE undergrads receive IEEE Power and Energy Scholarships

Posted: December 7, 2016

Mary Scherer
Carl Staiger
Kyle Martin
The IEEE Power and Energy Society recently presented scholarship awards to three electrical and computer engineering (ECE) students at The Ohio State University this year.

Among the Region 2 Mid-Atlantic winners, undergraduates Carl Staiger and Kyle Martin both received $2,000, whereas Mary Scherer won $3,000 from the PES Scholarship Plus Scholar as a three-time winner.

Each student was nominated upon recommendations from ECE faculty.

ECE Department Associate Chair Betty Lise Anderson surprised the students by presenting their awards individually before class periods this month.

Scherer spoke about the honor of receiving the award multiple times at the annual IEEE PES General meeting this October in Boston.

“I wanted to emphasize today how important this scholarship is,” she said. “When I got to Ohio State I had no idea what I wanted to do, so I picked electrical engineering because I knew I could do anything.”

Scherer said receiving the award the first time encouraged her to delve further into her studies, and two rotations interning at American Electric Power only managed to solidify her resolve to enter the power industry after graduation.

“This is an exciting and active field,” she said. “And this is really what I want to do with my life.”

Watch the full video of Scherer’s speech HERE.

According to the IEEE Power and Energy Society, each award recipient was selected as part of the Scholarship Plus Initiative, honoring the "best and brightest” annual undergraduate electrical and computer engineering scholars. They were each chosen for their strong GPAs and extracurricular commitments to Ohio State, as well as their future career goals within the power and energy industry.

Two hundred and thirty PES Scholarship recipients were selected from the 529 individuals who applied this year.

The scholarships are made possible from donations of individuals and corporations to the IEEE Power & Energy Society Scholarship Fund of the IEEE Foundation.